A RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ORANGE TOWNSHIP HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL, 29 NORTH DAY STREET, ORANGE, NEW JERSEY ON TUESDAY, JULY 2, 2013 AT 7:00 PM.

1)	ROLL CALL		PRESENT	ABSENT
	Hon. Hassan Abdul-Rasheed Hon. Elroy A. Corbitt Hon. Tency A. Eason Hon. April Gaunt-Butler Hon. Linda Jones-Bell Hon. Edward B. Marable, Jr. Hon. Donna K. Williams	(West Ward) (At-large) (North Ward) (At-Large) (East Ward) (South Ward (At-Large)	X	X
	ALSO PRESENT			
	Madeline F. Smith, Deputy Mun. Clerk Hon. Dwayne D. Warren, Esq., Mayor Dan S. Smith, City Attorney Kevin D. Harris, Legislative Research Officer Antoinette Dismukes, Clerk's Office Margarette Homere, Clerk's Office Meagan O'Hanlon, Lerch Budget Consultant		X X X X	X

- 2) Deputy Municipal Clerk announces that the requirement of N.J. S.A. 10:4-9 et. Seq., "Sunshine Law" has been met. A notice of this meeting was sent to the *Star Ledger* and published in *The Orange Transcript* on June 27, 2013, posted on the Bulletin Board in City Hall and filed in the Office of the Municipal Clerk.
- 3) REORGANIZATION as per Administrative Code, Chapter 4, Article 2: City Council Annual Election of Officers.

Council President Eason entertains a motion for nomination of the appointment of the Temporary Chairperson.

Councilwoman Williams nominated Linda Jones-Bell.

Appointment of the Temporary Chairperson: Linda Jones-Bell

Motion: Jones-Bell **Second:** Williams

Deputy Municipal Clerk Smith announced the Roll Call for Council President Nominees:

Yeas: Corbitt, Gaunt-Butler, Jones-Bell, Marable and Eason

Nays: None

Abstentions: Williams **Absences:** Abdul-Rasheed

Council President Eason ruled the motion was carried by Five Yeas; No Nays; One Abstention and One Absence.

1) NOMINATION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT:

Chairwoman Jones-Bell opened the floor to entertain a motion for nomination of the Council President.

Councilwoman Eason nominated Donna K. Williams

Motion to close Nominations: Gaunt-Butler Second: Eason

Deputy Municipal Clerk Smith announced the Roll Call for Council President Nominees:

Yeas: Corbitt, Gaunt-Butler, Jones-Bell, Marable and Eason

Nays: None

Abstentions: Williams **Absences:** Abdul-Rasheed

Council President Eason ruled the motion was carried by Five Yeas; No Nays; One Abstention and One Absence.

*230-2013 A resolution electing Council Member <u>Donna K. Williams</u> as Council President.

Motion to adopt: Jones-Bell Second: Eason

Deputy Municipal Clerk Smith announced the roll call as follows:

Yeas: Corbitt, Gaunt-Butler, Jones-Bell, Marable, Williams and Eason

Navs: None

Abstentions: None

Absences: Abdul-Rasheed

Council President Eason ruled the motion was carried by Six Yeas; No Nays; No Abstentions and One Absence.

2) NOMINATIONS OF COUNCIL VICE - PRESIDENT:

Council President Williams opened the floor to entertain a motion for nomination of the Council Vice – President.

Councilwoman Jones-Bell nominated Elroy A. Corbitt.

Motion to close Nominations: Jones-Bell Second: Gaunt-Butler

Deputy Municipal Clerk Smith announced the Roll Call for Council Vice President Nominees.

Yeas: Corbitt, Jones-Bell, Marable, Williams and Eason

Nays: None

Abstentions: Gaunt-Butler **Absences:** Abdul-Rasheed

Council President Williams ruled the motion was carried by Five Yeas; No Nays; One Abstention and One Absence.

*231-2013 A resolution electing Council Member Elroy A. Corbitt as Council Vice – President.

Motion to adopt: Eason Second: Jones-Bell

Deputy Municipal Clerk Smith announced the roll call as follows:

Yeas: Corbitt, Jones-Bell, Marable, Williams and Eason

Navs: None

Abstentions: Gaunt-Butler **Absences:** Abdul-Rasheed

Council President Williams ruled the motion was carried by Five Yeas; No Nays; One Abstention and One Absence.

4) MOTION TO ADJOURN

Motion: Jones-Bell VOICE VOTE Second: Gaunt-Butler

ADJOURNMENT: 7:32PM

Madeline F. Smith, RMC Deputy Municipal Clerk

Donna K. Williams Council President

MINUTES APPROVAL

Passed on August 7th, 2013

Conference & Regular Meeting on July 2nd, 2013

Hon. Abdul-Rasheed cannot vote because he was not present.

Motion to Adopt: Corbitt Second: Gaunt-Butler

The roll call by Council President Williams was as followed:

Yeas: Corbitt, Gaunt-Butler, Jones-Bell, Marable and Williams

Nays: None

Abstentions: Abdul-Rasheed

Absences: Eason

Council President Williams ruled the Motion was carried by Five Yeas; No Nays; One Abstention and One Absence.