THIS WAS A RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ORANGE TOWNSHIP HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL, 29, NORTH DAY STREET ORANGE, NEW JERSEY, ON THURSDAY, JULY 6, 2017 AT 7:17 P.M.

## **ROLL CALL**

Hon. Kerry Coley
Hon. Tency A. Eason
Hon. Christopher Jackson
Hon. Harold J. Johnson, Jr.
Hon. Jamie Summers- Johnson
Hon. Donna K. Williams
Hon. Adrienne Wooten
(Kast -Ward)
(North-Ward)
(Kt-Large)
(At-Large)

#### ALSO PRESENT

Joyce L. Lanier, City Clerk
Madeline Smith, Deputy City Clerk
Chris Hartwyk, Business Administrator
Eric S. Pennington, City Attorney
Adrian Mapp, Finance Director
Marty Mayes, Planning/Public Work Director
Joy Lascari, Chief Financial Officer
Malee Wing, Serving as the Legislative Research Officer
Margarette Homere, Senior Clerk, Clerk's Office

The City Clerk announces that the requirement of N.J. S.A. 10:4-9 et. Seq., "Sunshine Law" has been met. A notice of this meeting was sent to the *Star Ledger* and published in *The Orange Transcript* on June 22, 2017 and June 29, 2017 posted on the Bulletin Board in City Hall and filed in the Office of the City Clerk.

RE-ORGANIZATION- As Per Administrative Code, Chapter 4, Article 2 – City Council Annual Election of Officers.

## APPOINTMENT OF THE TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

Motion to appoint Christopher Jackson as Temporary Chairperson by Councilwoman Williams, seconded by Councilman Coley.

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Eason, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Wooten

Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

#### **Motion Carries.**

## NOMINATIONS OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Councilwoman Eason nominated Councilwoman Adrienne Wooten. Councilman Johnson, Jr. nominated Councilmen Kerry Coley.

# The nominations were closed by Chair Person Jackson.

The City Clerk stated she would do a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilwoman Wooten.

**Point of Order**: Councilwoman Eason suggested that the two candidates state what they would do

differently. After further discussion by the Council Members and comments from

the two candidates the roll call took place.

#### Roll Call for the nomination for Adrienne Wooten

## **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Eason, Summers-Johnson, Wooten Nays: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Williams

Abstain: None. Absent: None.

## **Motion Fails.**

# Roll Call for the nomination of Kerry Coley

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Williams, Nays: Eason, Summers-Johnson, Wooten

Abstain: None. Absent: None.

## **Motion Carries**

Motion to approve Resolution 229A by Councilman Johnson, seconded by Councilwoman Williams.

# 229A-2017 A Resolution Electing Council Member Kerry Coley as Council President.

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Williams, Nays: Eason, Summers-Johnson, Wooten

Abstain: None. Absent: None.

#### **Motion Carries**

The Clerk announces that Kerry Coley is now Council President.

# **Nominations for Council Vice President.**

Councilwoman Eason nominated Councilman Christopher Jackson.

Councilwoman Williams nominated Councilman Harold Johnson Jr.

The nominations were closed by Councilwoman Eason, seconded by Councilwoman Wooten. The nomination was closed by a unanimous vote.

Councilman Jackson reported that he was not seeking the office of Vice President. Motion for the nomination of Harold Johnson, Jr. as Council Vice-President by Councilwoman Summers-Johnson, seconded by Councilwoman Williams Roll Call:

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson Williams,

Nays: Eason, Wooten

Abstain: None. Absent: None.

## **Motion Carries**

Motion to approve Resolution 229B by Councilwoman Summers-Johnson, seconded by Councilwoman Williams

229B-2017 A Resolution Electing Council Member Harold Johnson Jr. as Council Vice-President.

## **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson Williams,

Nays: Eason, Wooten

Abstain: None. Absent: None.

## **Motion Carries**

Councilman Harold Johnson is now Vice President.

Motion to adjourn by Councilwoman Williams, seconded by Councilman Johnson.

By consensus the regular meeting adjourned at 7:41 P.M.

Approved:	
Joyce L. Lanier	Kerry Coley
City Clerk	Council President