# THIS WAS A RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ORANGE TOWNSHIP HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL, 29, NORTH DAY STREET ORANGE, NEW JERSEY, ON FRIDAY, JULY 1, 2016.

#### **Roll Call:**

**Present**: Councilman Kerry Coley, East Ward

Councilman Christopher Jackson, At-Large Councilman Harold Johnson, Jr. West Ward

Councilwoman Jamie Summers-Johnson., South Ward

Councilwoman Donna K. Williams, At-Large Councilwoman Adrienne Wooten, At-Large

**Absent:** Councilwoman Tency A. Eason, North Ward

City Clerk Joyce L. Lanier certified the election of Mayor Dwayne Warren and the Council Members At-Large Christopher Jackson, Donna K. Williams and Adrienne Wooten.

**RE-ORGANIZATION-** As Per Administrative Code, Chapter 4, Article 2 - City Council Annual Election of Officers.

#### APPOINTMENT OF THE TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

Motion by Councilwoman Williams, seconded by Councilman Coley to appoint Councilman Harold Johnson, Jr. as Temporary Chairperson.

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Wooten, Williams

Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Eason

Motion carries.

#### NOMINATIONS OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Temporary Chair Johnson asked for nominations for Council President

The City Clerk asked each Council Members for their nomination: Councilman Coley voted for Donna K. Williams
Councilman Jackson voted for Donna K. Williams
Councilwoman Summers-Johnson voted for Donna K. Williams
Councilwoman Donna K. Williams Abstained from voting.
Councilwoman Wooten voted for Donna K. Williams
Temporary Chair Johnson voted for Donna K. Williams

#### Roll Call for Council President Nominee Donna K. Williams

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Wooten

Nays: None. Abstain: Williams Absent: Eason

#### Motion carries.

## 119-2016 A Resolution Electing Council Member Donna K. Williams as Council President

## Motion to approve Resolution 119-2016 by Councilman Coley, seconded by Councilwoman Summers-Johnson

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Wooten, Williams

Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Eason

#### Motion carries.

#### NOMINATIONS OF COUNCIL-VICE PRESIDENT

**Roll Call for Council Vice President Nominees:** 

Councilman Johnson Jr. nominated Councilman Kerry Coley as Council Vice President.

**Councilman Coley voted for Kerry Coley** 

Councilman Jackson voted for Kerry Colev

Councilwoman Summers-Johnson voted for Kerry Coley

Councilwoman Donna K. Williams voted for Kerry Coley

**Councilwoman Wooten voted for Kerry Coley** 

### **Roll Call for Council Vice President Nominee Kerry Coley**

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Wooten, Williams

Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Eason

#### Motion carries.

#### 120-2016 A Resolution Electing Council Member Kerry Coley

as Council Vice - President.

Motion to approve Resolution 120-2016 by Councilman Jackson, seconded by Councilman Johnson.

#### **Roll Call:**

Ayes: Coley, Jackson, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Wooten, Williams

Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Eason

#### **Motion carries.**

City Clerk Joyce L. Lanier made the following statements:

The Honorable Donna K. Williams has been elected to President at meetings of the Municipal Council. Madame President I present to you this gavel, the symbol of authority of your office. May you wield it judiciously and wisely. With this presentation, we wish you every success in your high office as President of the Municipal Council of the City of Orange Township.

Motion to adjourn by Councilwoman Summers-Johnson, seconded by Councilman Jackson.

By consensus the regular meeting adjoi	irned at 2:30 P.M.
Joyce L. Lanier	Donna K. Williams
Municipal Clerk	Council President