THIS WAS A RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ORANGE TOWNSHIP HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL, 29, NORTH DAY STREET, ORANGE, NEW JERSEY, ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 1, 2015, AT 5:05 P.M.

Roll Call:

Present:

Councilman Kerry J. Coley, East Ward Councilman Elroy A. Corbitt, At-Large Councilwoman Tency A. Eason, North-Ward Councilwoman April Gaunt-Butler, At-Large Councilman Harold J. Johnson, Jr., West-Ward Councilwoman Jamie Summers-Johnson, South-Ward Council President Donna K. Williams, At-Large

Also Present:

Joyce L. Lanier, City Clerk Madeline Smith, Deputy City Clerk Margaret Homere, Clerk's Office Tia Thomas, Clerk's Office Dan S. Smith, City Attorney Marty Mayes, Representing Administration Adrian Mapp, Director of Finance Joy Lascari, Chief Financial Officer Kenneth Douglas, Fire Director John Wade, Acting Police Director

Absent: Kevin D. Harris, Legislative Research Officer

The City Clerk announces that the requirement of N.J. S.A. 10:4-9 et. Seq., "Sunshine Law" has been met. A notice of this meeting was sent to the *Star Ledger* and published in *The Orange Transcript* on June 25, 2015, posted on the Bulletin Board in City Hall and filed in the Office of the City Clerk.

The City Clerk made this statement: As Per Administrative Code, Chapter 4, Article 2 - City Council Annual Election of Officers, at this time we need to appoint a temporary chairperson. Is there a motion?

Motion by Councilman Corbitt, seconded by Councilwoman Gaunt-Butler to appoint Councilwoman Eason as temporary chairperson.

The City Clerk asked if there was another nominee. Hearing none, the vote was taken.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Coley, Corbitt, Eason, , Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Gaunt-ButlerNays:NoneAbstain:NoneAbsent:None

Motion Carries.

Councilwoman Eason takes the chair as temporary Chairperson.

NOMINATIONS OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT:

The City Clerk states that at this time we will open the floor for nominations for Council President.

Councilwoman Eason called on Councilwoman Summers-Johnson for a nomination. Councilwoman Summers-Johnson nominated Councilwoman Gaunt-Butler for Council President. The Chair asked if there were any more nominations.

Hearing none, the Chair asked for a motion to close the nominations.

Motion by Councilman Johnson Jr., seconded by Councilwoman Williams, to close the nominations.

Roll Call for Council President Nominee April Gaunt-Butler.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Coley, Corbitt, Eason, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Gaunt-ButlerNays:NoneAbstain:NoneAbsent:None

Motion Carries.

Councilwoman Gaunt-Butler took the Chair as Council-President.

The Clerk read Resolution 170-2015 by title.

170-2015 A Resolution Electing Council Member Gaunt-Butler as Council President.

Motion by Councilwoman Williams, seconded by Councilman Johnson Jr to approve Resolution 170-2015.

Roll Call:

Ayes: Coley, Corbitt, Eason, , Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Gaunt-ButlerNays:NoneAbstain:NoneAbsent:None

Motion Carries.

The Clerk commented that at this time the floor was open for nomination of Council Vice President.

Councilwoman Eason nominated Councilman Corbitt for Council Vice President.

The Chair asked if there were any other nominations. Hearing none, the Chair asked for a motion to close the nomination.

Motion by Councilwoman Eason, seconded by Councilman Johnson Jr.

Roll Call:

 Ayes: Coley, Corbitt, Eason, , Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Gaunt-Butler

 Nays:
 None

 Abstain:
 None

 Absent:
 None

 Motion Carries.
 None

The Clerk read Resolution 171-2015 by title.

171--2015 A Resolution Electing Council Member Elroy Corbitt as Council Vice – President.

Motion to approve Resolution 171-2015 by Councilwoman Eason, seconded by Councilman Johnson

Roll Call:

 Ayes: Coley, Corbitt, Eason, Johnson, Jr., Summers-Johnson, Williams, Gaunt-Butler

 Nays:
 None

 Abstain:
 None

 Absent:
 None

 Motion Carries.
 None

Motion by Councilman Corbitt, seconded by Councilman Johnson Jr. to adjourn.

The meeting was adjourned by a unanimous vote at 5:15 P.M.

JOYCE L. LANIER

ELROY A. CORBITT

Joyce L. Lanier City Clerk Elroy A. Corbitt Council Vice President

**Original Copy of the Minutes can be obtained from the Office of the City Clerk.